About Us

School Advisory Council

The School Advisory Council provides a forum for discussion and discernment, where parent voice and community perspective are available to inform and support the decisions made by the Principal and Custodian of Mission for the good of the College and parish where students’ wellbeing and outcomes are paramount.

The School Advisory Council plays an important role in supporting the work of the Principal by:

  • Articulating and enacting the College’s vision and mission
  • Promoting the school’s Catholic ethos and culture
  • Promoting faith formation and development
  • Supporting school policies as required
  • Giving advice to the Principal on issues such as school improvement plans and enrolment trends
  • Engaging in discussion with the Principal about the annual school budget and other financial matters
  • Giving advice to the Principal about the school master plan
  • Providing capital resource planning and maintenance support to the principal.

The Ave Maria College School Advisory Council has the following membership:

  • Executive Officers – Parish Priest (Custodian of Mission) and Principal
  • Parents – up to 6 current parents
  • Alumnae – up to one past Ave Maria College student
  • Co-Opted members – up to 3 co-opted members with particular areas of expertise
  • In attendance – Executive Deputy Principal, Business Member and Executive Assistant to the Principal 

2024 School Advisory Council members are: 

Fr Tony Doran – Parish Priest (Custodian of Mission) / Executive Officer

Ms Tanya Hutton – Principal / Executive Officer

Mr Robert De Fazio – Parent representative, Parish of the Good Shepherd, Council chair

Mrs Zorka Dunstan – Parent representative, St Mary of the Assumption Parish

Mr Michael Ewing – Parent representative, St John Bosco’s Parish

Mr Raymond Ngo – Parent representative, Parish of the Good Shepherd

Ms Leanne Weaver – Alumnae representative, Parish of the Good Shepherd

Mrs Meagan Taylor - Parent representative

Mr Dane Calleja – In attendance

Mrs Deanne Telford – In attendance

Miss Amy Chapman – In attendance

Sub-committees of the School Advisory Council include:

  • Finance and Property Committee
  • Policy and Curriculum Committee

Key policies related to the School Advisory Council include:

How to join the School Advisory Council and/or Sub-Committees:

Vacancies will be advertised via the College Newsletter. Current parents or carers wishing to volunteer for the School Advisory Council, Finance and Property Committee and/or Policy and Curriculum Committee, are asked to please email Amy Chapman, EA to the Principal, via Principals.EA@avemaria.vic.edu.au for more information related to current vacancies and the application process. As a school that promotes a culture of child safety all volunteers to these committees and sub-committees are required engage with our volunteer appointment process and must have a current working with child check.